Howard Green

Home / People / Faculty / Howard Green
George Higginson Professor of Cell Biology

Department of Cell Biology
Harvard Medical School
240 Longwood Avenue
Boston, MA 02115

(617) 432-0851
(617) 432-0109

Dr. Green received his Doctorate in Medicine at the University of Toronto. He began his independent scientific work at New York University School of Medicine, where he ultimately became Professor and Chairman of the Department of Cell Biology. From 1970-1980 he was Professor of Cell Biology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He came to Harvard Medical School in 1980 and served as Chairman of the Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology from then until 1993. Since then he has been George Higginson Professor in the Department of Cell Biology. While at MIT and Harvard Medical School, he developed the first therapeutic use of cultured cells - the use of keratinocytes for the regeneration of epidermis on severely burned patients. The first large-scale, life-saving use of this procedure was demonstrated with cells grown in his laboratory on the 6th floor of Building C2, where his lab is still located.


National Academy of Sciences (USA)
American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Institut de France (Académie des Sciences)
Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, Republic of France
D.Sc. (Hon.) University of Connecticut
M.D. (Hon.) University of Göteborg
D.Sc. (Hon.) State University of New York at Stony Brook
D.Sc. (Hon.) Louisiana State University, 2008

Honorary Memberships

Society of Investigative Dermatology
Japanese Society for Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology
President of Scientific Council, Institut Curie, Paris, France, 1999-2007


Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Taub International Memorial Award for Psoriasis Research
Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology
Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award in Basic Medical Research
Lila Gruber Research Award, American Academy of Dermatology
The Passano Award
Blaise Pascal Medal for Biology and Life Sciences, 2007
Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, 2010